1/2 Acre Challenge Week 2: Operation Iris Rescue

My poor iris took a beating during the drought the past few years while the cactus survived, then got entirely out of control with this year’s welcome rain. The iris perked up, too, and deserved a new home, which they now have next to my shed.  I also have a garbage can full of cactus ears that probably weighs 300 lbs. ratsass

I’m sure that most of you out there can relate to the picture to the right as far as my efforts to tame my little piece of Texas are concerned. That’s okay. There’s something satisfying about sharing my progress in cyberspace. Somehow it provides a certain level of accountability, too. Just in case ANYONE actually does care, my intent is documented and it will be harder for me to give up and quit, though it’s pretty likely that will happen as the mercury rises into the usual triple digits of a Texas Hill Country summer. Until then, I can at least get as much done as I can, whether or not anyone notices, much less gives a rat’s ass.

2 thoughts on “1/2 Acre Challenge Week 2: Operation Iris Rescue

  1. Is that a prickly pear cactus? If so, how come you’re throwing out the pads? In parts of the US, prickly pears ab an exotic, gourmet treat and healthy addition to one’s diet. The prickly pear plant has three different edible sections: the pad of the cactus, which can be treated like a vegetable, the petals of the flowers, which can be added to salads, and the pear (tuna), which can be treated like a fruit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure what it is but I was not exaggerating about 300 lbs of them in the trash can. I know the young pads can be used to make napalitos (sp?), the flowers are pretty yellow that some sort of beetle loves, and they do eventually turn into a red fruit. Don’t worry, it will grow back, plus I’ve taken several of the sections I cut off to another area of the yard by the road where they can grow as much as they want. Just placing them on the ground is usually enough to start them growing somewhere else. Thank heavens it’s at least the cactus variety without the spikes, or whatever those nasty things are called. Plenty of them in the lot behind me, though. I wouldn’t have been able to eradicate it as easily as I did if the one out in front were so armed.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.