AMA Calls for Ban of Drug Advertising, as Part of Affordability Initiative

Drug ads are already outlawed in Europe. It’s always so ridiculous to hear the TV ads where there are a few seconds of benefits followed by a litany of side effects.  This totally makes sense to me.

Drug costs have skyrocketed in the last year-plus, causing outrage and fueling debates on both sides of the political aisle. The American Medical Association has taken the unprecedented step of calling for a ban to drug advertising direct to consumers, as part of a plan to bring down drug costs.

Source: AMA Calls for Ban of Drug Advertising, as Part of Affordability Initiative

11 thoughts on “AMA Calls for Ban of Drug Advertising, as Part of Affordability Initiative

  1. Pingback: AMA Calls for Ban of Drug Advertising, as Part of Affordability Initiative | Paradise Kendra ☼

      • Too true! I often wonder if other areas have as many ads for medications as FL… or if we get more due to the higher average age of the population.

        Like

      • I agree. The sad thing is that a significant percentage of them are in poor health and many can not afford good health care, so it isn’t unusual for the cashier at the supermarket or a fast food place to be older than I am.

        Like

      • I’m sure you are correct about that, but in truth, I haven’t shopped at one in over a decade. I did not like the ‘pipeline way ‘Walmart funneled inexpensive and often inferior quality products from other countries into the US, which I thought was bad for our economy. Perhaps they no longer do this, but if there is a buck to be made, I suspect they haven’t changed how they choose the goods they provide.

        Like

      • I don’t like them, either, but where I live there are few choices. I shop online mostly. I mostly buy cat food there because our little grocery store (15 miles away) doesn’t carry enough variety. Walmart is 25 miles away, the nearest shopping center about 60 miles away.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Most everything I want is within 8 miles – that includes hospitals, the Atlantic Ocean, a variety of grocery stores and restaurants, lumber yards, etc…. While we lived in Panama, our shopping situation was similar to what you have.

        Like

Comments are closed.